High Risk Teams

High Risk Teams (HRTs) are a core component of Queensland’s integrated service response approach.

HRTs are coordinated, multi-agency teams that collaborate to provide integrated, holistic, culturally appropriate safety responses for victims and their children who are at high risk of serious harm or lethality.

HRTs consist of officers from agencies with a role in keeping victims safe and holding perpetrators to account, including:

  • specialist DFV services
  • police
  • health
  • corrections
  • housing
  • courts
  • child safety
  • youth justice
  • Victim Assist Queensland.

There are currently 9 HRTs across Queensland:

  • Brisbane
  • Caboolture
  • Cairns
  • Ipswich
  • Logan/Beenleigh
  • Mackay
  • Mount Isa/Gulf
  • South Burnett
  • Townsville.

As part of the Queensland Government response to the Women’s Safety and Justice Taskforce recommendations, HRTs will be expanded to Rockhampton, Townsville and Brisbane South over 4 years to 2025–26. Townsville was the first new HRT, commencing operations in July 2023.