Sexual Violence Prevention consultation

To help inform Prevent. Support. Believe. Queensland's Framework to address Sexual Violence, we have engaged with community representatives and academic experts, who provided valuable input and guidance throughout the Framework's development. Importantly, the Framework also reflects the experiences of people who have experienced sexual violence and courageously shared their stories and insights about how to create positive change.

More information about how we consulted and what we heard from the community is provided in the Consultation Summary, which can be viewed to the right of this page.

Sexual Violence Prevention Roundtable

The Sexual Violence Prevention Roundtable was established to further inform the Framework by providing insight on sexual violence issues, identifying priority areas of need, and providing advice on evidence-based approaches to address the causes of sexual violence.

The Roundtable includes sector and community representatives, academic experts, and senior government representatives, and is chaired by the Deputy Director-General, Strategy, Department of Child Safety, Youth and Women.

The Roundtable met on 20 March, 5 July, 30 July, and 23 September 2019. The Roundtable will continue to support development of a comprehensive Action Plan to address sexual violence, to be released in 2020.

Members of the Sexual Violence Prevention Roundtable are:

  • Ms Leona Berrie, Queensland Sexual Assault Network
  • Ms Di Macleod, Gold Coast Centre Against Sexual Violence
  • Ms Cecilia Barassi-Rubio, Immigrant Women's Support Service
  • Ms Angela Lynch, Women's Legal Service Queensland
  • Professor Patrick O'Leary, Griffith Criminology Institute, Griffith University
  • Dr Michael Flood, Queensland University of Technology
  • Ms Karyn Walsh, Micah Projects
  • Ms Cassandra Ashton, Relationships Australia Queensland
  • Ms Clare Guilfoyle, Protect All Children Today (PACT)
  • Mr James Edney, YETI
  • Ms Karren Aspinall, Laurel Place
  • Ms Charmaine Law, Anglicare CQ
  • Ms Faith Green, Mob Kinnectors
  • Ms Rachael Pascua, R4Respect Ambassador
  • Ms Karni Liddell, DFV Implementation Council
  • Mr Paul Friedman, Queensland Police Service
  • Ms Liza Windle, Department of Housing and Public Works
  • Mr Dean Corless, Victim Assist Queensland, Department of Justice and Attorney-General
  • Mr Jason Kidd, Department of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Partnerships
  • Ms Hayley Stevenson, Department of Education
  • Mr David Harmer, Queensland Health
  • Ms Helen Ferguson, Department of Communities, Disability Services and Seniors
  • Ms Leigh Roach (Chair), Department of Child Safety, Youth and Women.