Women's Safety and Justice Taskforce

On 11 March 2021, the Queensland Government announced a wide-ranging review into the experience of women across the criminal justice system to be undertaken by the Women’s Safety and Justice Taskforce, led by Margaret McMurdo AC.

The taskforce members include:

  • Ms Tracy Linford APM, Deputy Commissioner, Queensland Police Service (QPS)
  • Ms Laura Reece, Barrister-at-Law
  • Ms Di Macleod, Deputy Chair, Queensland Sexual Assault Network
  • Ms Gillian O’Brien, Manager, WWILD
  • Ms Thelma Schwartz, Principal Legal Officer, Queensland Indigenous Family Violence Legal Service
  • Professor Patrick O’Leary, Professor, Griffith University
  • Ms Kelly-Ann Tansley, Manager, Brisbane Domestic Violence Service – Micah Projects
  • Dr Nora Amath, Islamic Women’s Association of Australia
  • Mr Philip McCarthy, QC, Deputy Director of Public Prosecutions
  • Ms Alexis Oxley, Solicitor, Legal Aid Queensland.

For further information about the taskforce, including how you can participate, visit www.womenstaskforce.qld.gov.au.

Key initiatives to date include: